Influenza A virus

  • Wild birds, particularly waterfowl, are considered to be a natural reservoir for the influenza A virus.
  • Highly pathogenic bird flu viruses cause classical avian flu in chickens and turkeys leading to 100% mortality.
  • Bird flu viruses possess a zoonotic potential and in rare cases may lead to serious illnesses in humans with a fatal outcome.
  • Pigs may serve as a host for porcine, avian and human influenza viruses. Novel influenza A viruses having pandemic potential may result from the adaptation and exchange of gene segments.

Krauskopfpelikan2  web

Research: Application for approval of vaccination of birds kept in zoos against highly pathogenic avian influenza (H5N1) using a non-replicating viral vector

 

 

In the past two years (2021 and 2022), Europe has been hit by the largest epidemic of highly pathogenic avian influenza even seen, with several thousand outbreaks at poultry farms. Various species of wild bird including several endangered species have also been affected by the highly pathogenic H5N1 virus, posing a serious threat to some wild bird populations in certain regions. In February 2022, an H5N1 outbreak occurred in the pelican corral located close to the River Aare at Bern Animal Park.

Protecting wild birds in zoos

Since avian influenza is a persistent problem and as it is impossible to closely quarantine all of the wild bird species kept in zoos according to animal welfare standards, it is planned to protect the animals by vaccination. Therefore, the IVI recently submitted an application for approval of a propagation-incompetent vector vaccine that has been developed at the IVI. The vaccine will be tested in various wild bird species kept in free-ranging corrals and aviaries that may come into contact with H5N1-infected wild birds. The vaccination trial at Bern Animal Park and Basel Zoo is scheduled for autumn 2023.

An effective vector vaccine

The viral vector vaccine to be used in this experimental release trial is based on a non-replicating vesicular stomatitis virus (VSV), from which one essential gene has been removed and replaced by a gene from the H5N1 avian influenza virus. The vector vaccine has been experimentally tested at the IVI and was found to completely protect chickens against lethal infection with H5N1. The vaccine also allows easy discrimination between vaccinated and infected animals using serological tests. Since the vaccine contains a genetically modified organism (GMO), the IVI has submitted an application for experimental release of the GMO to the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN). The application has been published in the Federal Gazette and by the municipalities of Bern and Basel, where the trials will take place.

More about the application “Approval of experimental release of a genetically modified vaccine”

Authorising authority: Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), 3003 Bern

Authorisation procedure: The procedure is based on Article 11 of the Gene Technology Act of 21 March 2003 (GTA, SR 814.91) and on Articles 17 et seq. and 36 et seq. of the Release Ordinance of 10 September 2008 (RO, SR 814.911).

The non-confidential files will be available for anyone to view at the following addresses during normal office hours from 14 December 2022 to 30 January 2023 inclusive:

B/CH/22/01 (B22001): Application 


Which virus is behind the flu?

oie cendrée web

While all eyes are focused on the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic, another virus currently circulating in Europe hits the poultry industry seriously. Hundreds of thousands of birds had to be culled this winter in order to control this epizootic. The pathogen responsible for this animal disease is an influenza virus. Other influenza viruses cause disease in pigs or “flu” in humans. What is the relationship between these different influenza viruses?

Interview with Dr Gert Zimmer, a virologist at the Institute of Virology and Immunology (IVI) and the University of Bern (PDF, 214 kB, 24.02.2022)

NEWS from IVI on cases in Switzerland 

 

Last modification 14.12.2022

Top of page

https://www.ivi.admin.ch/content/ivi/en/home/themen/vogelgrippe.html

Les virus de l’influenza A

  • Les oiseaux sauvages, et plus particulièrement les oiseaux aquatiques, sont considérés comme un réservoir naturel des virus de l’influenza A.
  • Ces virus hautement pathogènes sont responsables chez les poules et les dindes de la peste aviaire classique, qui est mortelle dans 100 % des cas.
  • Ils ont un potentiel zoonotique et sont susceptibles, dans de rares cas, de provoquer des maladies graves à l’issue mortelle chez l’être humain.
  • Les porcs servent d’hôtes aux virus des influenza porcine, aviaire et humaine et, sous l’effet de l’adaptation et de l’échange de segments de gènes, sont à l’origine de nouveaux virus de l’influenza A au potentiel pandémique.

Krauskopfpelikan2  web

Recherche : demande d’autorisation de vacciner les oiseaux de zoo contre les virus de l’influenza aviaire hautement pathogènes (H5N1) au moyen d’un vaccin à vecteur viral non réplicatif

 

 

Au cours des deux dernières années (2021-2022), l’Europe a été touchée par la plus grande épidémie d’influenza aviaire hautement pathogène jamais enregistrée, avec plusieurs milliers de foyers signalés dans des exploitations de volailles de rente. Ces virus de la grippe aviaire hautement pathogènes (H5N1) ont également infecté de nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux sauvages, dont certaines populations sont désormais menacées au niveau régional. En Suisse, un foyer de H5N1 s’est déclaré au parc animalier de Berne, dans l’enclos des pélicans situé le long de l’Aar.

Protéger les oiseaux sauvages détenus dans des zoos

Comme la grippe aviaire est un problème persistant et que de nombreuses espèces d’oiseaux sauvages détenus dans les zoos ne peuvent pas être maintenus en quarantaine dans des conditions conformes à leurs besoins, les animaux doivent être protégés au moyen d’un vaccin. C’est pourquoi l’IVI a récemment déposé une demande d’autorisation pour l’utilisation d’un vaccin contre la grippe aviaire développé à l’IVI chez différentes espèces d’oiseaux sauvages qui sont détenus dans des enclos extérieurs ou des volières et qui peuvent potentiellement entrer en contact avec des oiseaux sauvages infectés par le H5N1. L’essai de vaccination devrait débuter à l’automne 2023 au parc animalier de Berne et au zoo de Bâle.

Un vaccin bien adapté

Le vaccin à vecteur qui serait utilisé lors de cette dissémination expérimentale se base sur le virus de la stomatite vésiculaire (VSV) incapable de se répliquer, dont un gène essentiel a été supprimé et remplacé par un gène du virus de la grippe aviaire H5N1. Ce vaccin, développé à l’IVI, a permis d’assurer aux poules vaccinées une protection complète contre le H5N1. Le vaccin permet en outre de distinguer facilement les animaux vaccinés des animaux infectés par le H5N1 au moyen de tests sérologiques. Étant donné que le vaccin est un organisme génétiquement modifié (OGM), l’IVI a déposé une demande d’autorisation de dissémination auprès de l’Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV). Celle‑ci est actuellement publiée dans la Feuille fédérale et dans les communes concernées.

En savoir davantage sur la demande d’autorisation de dissémination expérimentale d’un vaccin génétiquement modifié

Autorité délivrant l’autorisation : Office fédéral de l’environnement OFEV, 3003 Berne

Procédure d’autorisation : la procédure est régie par l’art. 11 de la loi du 21 mars 2003 sur le génie génétique (LGG ; RS 814.91) et les art. 17 ss et 36 ss de l’ordonnance du 10 septembre 2008 sur la dissémination dans l’environnement (ODE ; RS 814.911).

Quiconque le souhaite peut consulter les documents non confidentiels, du 14.12.2022 au 30.1.2023 compris, durant les heures du bureau ordinaires auprès des services suivants.

B/CH/22/01 (B22001) : demande d’autorisation


Quel virus se cache derrière la grippe ?

oie cendrée web

Alors que le monde entier a le regard tourné vers la pandémie de SARS-CoV-2, un autre virus sévit actuellement en Europe et affecte durement l’industrie avicole. Des centaines de milliers de volailles ont dû être abattues cet hiver pour maîtriser la grippe aviaire. Le responsable de cette épizootie ? Un virus influenza. D’autres virus influenza infectent les porcs ou provoquent la grippe chez l’être humain. Mais quel est le lien entre ces différents virus ?

Interview du Dr Gert Zimmer, virologue à l’Institut de virologie et d’immunologie (IVI) et à l’Université de Berne. (PDF, 218 kB, 24.02.2022)

Actualités de l'IVI sur les cas en Suisse

 

Dernière modification 14.12.2022

Début de la page

https://www.ivi.admin.ch/content/ivi/fr/home/themen/vogelgrippe.html