Immunology

The Immunology Department is responsible for teaching in Immunology at the Vetsuisse Faculty Bern and consists of four research groups concerned with the interaction of the immune system with infectious agents, especially viruses. We investigate how the immune system responds to infections and why certain viruses cause disease. To this end we use complex cell culture systems, consisting of phagocytes (scavenger cells), antigen-presenting cells (dendritic cells), epithelial cells and stem cells. Where possible, we use the resulting knowledge in the development of novel vaccines.

The diseases studied at present are foot-and-mouth disease, classical swine fever, porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome, influenza, diseases of small ruminants caused by lentiviruses, and enzootic pneumonia in pigs. In Immunology we also have a focus on zoonoses caused by flaviviruses such as Japanese encephalitis virus and Zika virus.

News

infographie web

Novel in vitro model: an alternative method to animal testing

As part of the research on the human placenta as a target of SARS-CoV-2 (Fahmi et al, 2021), the research team of PD Dr. Marco Alves (Institute of Virology and Immunology IVI and the University of Bern) has developed an in vitro model of the human placenta. This physiological model provides a platform that paves the way for a significant replacement of in vivo approaches when evaluating pathophysiological mechanisms of virus infection during pregnancy. This new model contributes to promote the 3R Principle that aims to replace, reduce, and refine animal experimentation, and more particularly the principle of replacement.

By publishing the exact method, as developed, in the scientific journal STAR Protocols (Fahmi et al., 2022), other research teams will be able to reproduce this technique – which ultimatly may help to reduce the use of animals whenever possible.

Animal experimentation is applied to address a biological problem when no alternative method exists. The Institute of Virology and Immunology IVI is committed to the development of alternative methods.


Caption:

Method of the novel in vitro model: from placental sampling to tissue culture, thereby enabling subsequent studies of the human placenta, for example after an infection from SARS-CoV-2.


corona et palcenta

The human placenta, a target of SARS-CoV-2

What happens in the human placenta after SARS-CoV-2 infection? The IVI and CHUV research teams found that SARS-CoV-2 can infect the cells of the human placenta and that the virus can proliferate and infect neighboring placental cells.

Last modification 14.04.2022

Top of page

Contact

University of Bern
Institute of Virology and Immunology (IVI)
Länggassstrasse 122
3001 Bern

Immunology
Phone +41 (0)31 684 24 73 /
(0)58 469 93 77


Prof. Dr. A. Summerfield

Print contact

https://www.ivi.admin.ch/content/ivi/en/home/forschung/immunologie.html

Immunologie

La division Immunologie est chargée de l'enseignement en immunologie à la faculté Vetsuisse de l'Université de Berne. Elle se compose de quatre groupes de recherche qui axent leurs travaux sur l'interaction du système immunitaire avec des agents infectieux, notamment des virus. Nous étudions comment ce dernier réagit aux infections et pourquoi certains virus sont pathogènes. Nous utilisons à cette fin des systèmes de culture cellulaire complexes comportant des phagocytes (macrophages), des cellules présentatrices d'antigènes (cellules dendritiques), des cellules épithéliales et des cellules souches. Dans la mesure du possible, nous appliquons les connaissances acquises pour développer de nouveaux vaccins.

Actuellement, nos études portent sur la fièvre aphteuse, la peste porcine classique, le syndrome dysgénésique et respiratoire du porc, la grippe, les maladies des petits ruminants provoquées par des lentivirus ainsi que sur la pneumonie enzootique du porc. Par ailleurs, la division Immunologie met l'accent sur les zoonoses causées par des flavivirus, tels que le virus de l'encéphalite japonaise ou le virus Zika.

Actuel

infographie web

Nouveau modèle in vitro : une méthode alternative à l’expérimentation animale

Dans le cadre de sa recherche sur le placenta humain comme cible du SARS-CoV-2 (Fahmi et al, 2021), l’équipe de recherche de PD Dr. Marco Alves (Institut de Virologie et d’Immunologie IVI et Université de Berne) a développé un modèle in vitro du placenta humain. Ce modèle physiologique fourni la plateforme nécessaire pour ouvrir la voie à un remplacement significatif des approches in vivo lors de l'évaluation des mécanismes physiopathologiques des virus causant des infections durant la grossesse. Ce nouveau modèle contribue à promouvoir le principe des 3R, qui vise à remplacer, réduire et affiner les expériences sur les animaux, et plus particulièrement le principe du remplacement.

En publiant la méthode exacte dans la revue scientifique STAR Protocols (Fahmi et al., 2022) telle qu’elle a été développée, d’autres équipes de scientifiques pourront reproduire cette technique – ce qui contribuera à terme à diminuer l’utilisation d’animaux chaque fois que c’est possible.

Les expériences sur les animaux sont autorisées uniquement s’il n’existe aucune méthode alternative permettant d’apporter une réponse à la problématique posée. L’Institut de virologie et d’immunologie IVI s’engage pour le développement de méthodes alternatives.

Légende infographie

Méthode du nouveau modèle in vitro : du prélèvement placentaire à la culture du tissu ce qui permet  d’étudier le placenta humain, par exemple, après une infection au SARS-CoV-2.

 


corona et palcenta

Le placenta humain, une cible du SARS-CoV-2

Que se passe-t-il dans le placenta humain après une infection au SARS-CoV-2 ? Les équipes de recherche de l’IVI et du CHUV ont pu déterminer d’une part que les cellules du placenta humain pouvaient être infectées par le SARS-CoV-2, et d’autre part que le virus pouvait y proliférer et infecter les cellules placentaires avoisinantes.

Dernière modification 14.04.2022

Début de la page

Contact

Université de Bern
Institut de Virologie et d'Immunologie (IVI)
Länggassstrasse 122
3001 Bern

Directeur Immunologie
Prof. Dr. A. Summerfield
Tél. +41 (0)31 684 24 73 /
(0)58 469 93 77

Prof. Dr. A. Summerfield

Imprimer contact

https://www.ivi.admin.ch/content/ivi/fr/home/forschung/immunologie.html