Swiss Rabies Center

The Swiss Rabies Centre is responsible for the diagnosis of rabies in humans and animals, and for serological monitoring of rabies vaccination in human and veterinary medicine. If required, it can advise doctors, veterinarians, members of the public and the authorities on all matters relating to rabies, especially in connection with human exposure to suspected rabid animals in Switzerland or other countries and international travel and animal movements (pre- and post-exhibition prophylaxis, pet travel schemes).

Rabies in Switzerland: a daily battle

Rennende Hunde

Rabies is fatal for both humans and animals and causes an estimated 59,000 human deaths each year, mostly in children in developing countries. Around 99 percent of human cases are due to bites by infected dogs. Switzerland has made major efforts to combat this disease and with great success, as it has been officially rabies-free since 1999. Maintaining this status is a daily challenge.

What is the risk to Switzerland?

Any dog, cat or ferret that is brought into Switzerland from a rabies risk country without sufficient immune protection and that does not comply with the EU-PETS (European Pet Travel Scheme) poses a risk to human and animal health. An imported case of rabies requires extensive investigations in order to identify any humans or animals who had contact with the infected animal. Exposed humans have to undergo post-exposure vaccination and contact animals have to be euthanized. The import of dogs, cats and ferrets must therefore be strictly controlled.

Prompt action is vital

Rabies is a disease of the central nervous system and is almost always fatal in both humans and animals. The incubation period before the first symptoms appear can range from a week to several months (typically one to three months in humans). A reliable diagnosis can only be made in brain tissue, so any animals suspected to have rabies must be euthanized. If a case of rabies is suspected, prompt action is vital to protect potentially exposed humans against this deadly zoonosis.

Get informed before travelling

Make sure you are well-informed before travelling: the FSVO’s online tool has plenty of information and tips to help you and your pet return to Switzerland without any problems. When visiting a rabies risk country, avoid touching the local animals and never bring an animal home with you, as it might already be infected and pass the disease on to you.

Surveillance by the Swiss Rabies Centre

In 2020 the Swiss Rabies Centre at the Institute of Virology and Immunology (IVI) examined 118 samples, including 110 animal brains, under the Swiss rabies surveillance programme, all of which tested negative. The Swiss Rabies Centre is responsible for rabies diagnosis in humans and animals, as well as for serology testing of rabies vaccine efficacy in human and veterinary medicine.

More Information

Links

Annual reports Swiss Rabbies Center (IVI - in german)

Factsheet: Das EU-PETS und Massnahmen bei Nichtbeachtung (IVI - in german)

LA RAGE Ne la ramenez pas dans vos bagages ! (Service de la consommation et des affaires vétérinaires, GE.CH - in french)

List of rabies countries 01.03.2021 (FSVO)

Tollwut beim Tier und beim Menschen (FSVO - in german)

Contact

Head
Prof. Dr.med.vet.
R. Zanoni
Telefon +41 (0)31 684 23 78
Prof. Dr. R. Zanoni

Print contact

https://www.ivi.admin.ch/content/ivi/en/home/diagnostik/schweizerische-tollwutzentrale.html

Centre suisse de la rage

Le Centre suisse de la rage est compétent pour le diagnostic de la rage chez l'homme et l'animal ainsi que pour le contrôle sérologique de l'efficacité de la vaccination antirabique en médecine humaine et en médecine vétérinaire. Il peut, au besoin, conseiller les médecins, les vétérinaires, les malades et les autorités pour toute question relative à la rage, notamment en rapport avec les expositions de l'homme à des animaux suspectés de rage en Suisse ou à l'étranger et pour toute demande concernant les voyages à l'étranger ou les mouvements d'animaux (prophylaxie avant une exposition et prophylaxie après une exposition à un animal suspecté de rage, plans de voyage avec un animal de compagnie).

Rage en Suisse : un combat de tous les jours

Rennende Hunde

La rage est mortelle tant pour l’homme que pour l’animal et on estime qu’elle tue chaque année près de 59 000 personnes, majoritairement des enfants dans les pays en développement. Environ 99 % des cas chez l’homme sont dus à des morsures de chiens infectés. La Suisse a déployé de gros efforts pour combattre cette épizootie – et avec succès, puisqu’elle est désormais considérée officiellement comme indemne de la rage terrestre depuis 1999. Un combat de tous les jours pour maintenir ce statut !

Quel risque pour la Suisse ?

Tout animal, qu’il s'agisse d’un chien, d’un chat ou d’un furet, qui est amené d’un pays à risque de rage et qui entre en Suisse sans une protection immunitaire suffisante en enfreignant les exigences de l’EU-PETS (European Pet Travel Scheme) met à nouveau en danger la santé humaine et animale. Si un cas de rage importé se produit, des enquêtes approfondies sont nécessaires pour déterminer qui (humains et animaux) a été en contact avec l’animal infecté. Les humains exposés doivent se soumettre à une vaccination post-exposition et les animaux contacts doivent être euthanasiés. Par conséquent, l’importation de chiens, de chats et de furets doit être strictement contrôlée.

Agir vite est primordial

La rage est une maladie du système nerveux central, et est presque toujours mortelle pour les humains et les animaux. La période d’incubation du virus peut varier d’une semaine à plusieurs mois (généralement 1 à 3 mois chez l’homme) avant l’apparition des symptômes. Un diagnostic fiable n’étant possible qu’en examinant le cerveau, les animaux suspects doivent donc être euthanasiés. En cas de suspicion, des mesures rapides doivent être prises pour protéger les personnes potentiellement exposées contre cette zoonose mortelle.

Bien s’informer avant de voyager

Avant de partir, il faut bien s’informer : l’aide en ligne de l’OSAV prodigue toutes les informations nécessaires pour revenir en Suisse sans inconvénient avec son animal de compagnie. Sur place, si vous êtes dans un pays à risque, ne touchez aucun animal errant et surtout ne ramenez aucun animal, car il peut être infecté et vous contaminer.

Le Centre suisse de la rage suit la situation

En 2020, le Centre suisse de la rage, situé à l’Institut de virologie et d’immunologie (IVI), a examiné un total de 118 échantillons, dont 110 cerveaux d’animaux, dans le cadre de la surveillance en Suisse. Le Centre suisse de la rage est compétent pour le diagnostic de la rage chez l’homme et l’animal ainsi que pour le contrôle sérologique de l’efficacité de la vaccination antirabique en médecine humaine et en médecine vétérinaire.

Informations complémentaires

Contact

Directeur
Prof. Dr.med.vet.
R. Zanoni
Tél. +41 (0)31 684 23 78
Prof. Dr. R. Zanoni

Imprimer contact

https://www.ivi.admin.ch/content/ivi/fr/home/diagnostik/schweizerische-tollwutzentrale.html