Immunology

The Immunology Department is responsible for teaching in Immunology at the Vetsuisse Faculty Bern and consists of four research groups concerned with the interaction of the immune system with infectious agents, especially viruses. We investigate how the immune system responds to infections and why certain viruses cause disease. To this end we use complex cell culture systems, consisting of phagocytes (scavenger cells), antigen-presenting cells (dendritic cells), epithelial cells and stem cells. Where possible, we use the resulting knowledge in the development of novel vaccines.

The diseases studied at present are foot-and-mouth disease, classical swine fever, porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome, influenza, diseases of small ruminants caused by lentiviruses, and enzootic pneumonia in pigs. In Immunology we also have a focus on zoonoses caused by flaviviruses such as Japanese encephalitis virus and Zika virus.

News

infographie web

Novel in vitro model: an alternative method to animal testing

As part of the research on the human placenta as a target of SARS-CoV-2 (Fahmi et al, 2021), the research team of PD Dr. Marco Alves (Institute of Virology and Immunology IVI and the University of Bern) has developed an in vitro model of the human placenta. This physiological model provides a platform that paves the way for a significant replacement of in vivo approaches when evaluating pathophysiological mechanisms of virus infection during pregnancy. This new model contributes to promote the 3R Principle that aims to replace, reduce, and refine animal experimentation, and more particularly the principle of replacement.

By publishing the exact method, as developed, in the scientific journal STAR Protocols (Fahmi et al., 2022), other research teams will be able to reproduce this technique – which ultimatly may help to reduce the use of animals whenever possible.

Animal experimentation is applied to address a biological problem when no alternative method exists. The Institute of Virology and Immunology IVI is committed to the development of alternative methods.


Caption:

Method of the novel in vitro model: from placental sampling to tissue culture, thereby enabling subsequent studies of the human placenta, for example after an infection from SARS-CoV-2.


corona et palcenta

The human placenta, a target of SARS-CoV-2

What happens in the human placenta after SARS-CoV-2 infection? The IVI and CHUV research teams found that SARS-CoV-2 can infect the cells of the human placenta and that the virus can proliferate and infect neighboring placental cells.

Last modification 14.04.2022

Top of page

Contact

University of Bern
Institute of Virology and Immunology (IVI)
Länggassstrasse 122
3001 Bern

Immunology
Phone +41 (0)31 684 24 73 /
(0)58 469 93 77


Prof. Dr. A. Summerfield

Print contact

https://www.ivi.admin.ch/content/ivi/en/home/forschung/immunologie.html

Immunologie

Die Abteilung Immunologie ist verantwortlich für die Lehre in Immmunologie an der Vetsuisse Fakultät Bern und besteht aus vier Forschungsgruppen, die sich mit der Interaktion des Immunsystems mit infektiösen Erregern, insbesondere Viren beschäftigen. Wir untersuchen wie das Immunsystem auf Infektionen reagiert und warum bestimmte Viren krank machen. Zu diesem Zweck verwenden wir komplexe Zellkultursysteme, die aus Phagozyten („Fresszellen“), Antigen-präsentierenden Zellen (dendritische Zellen), Epithelzellen sowie Stammzellen bestehen. Das erworbene Wissen verwenden wir wenn möglich zur Entwicklung neuartiger Impfstoffe.

Die untersuchten Krankheiten sind momentan die Maul- und Klauenseuche, die klassische Schweinepest, das porzine reproduktive und respiratorisches Syndrom, Influenza, durch Lentiviren verursachte Krankheiten der kleinen Wiederkäuer, sowie die enzootische Pneumonie beim Schwein. Zudem haben wir in der Immunologie ein Fokus auf Zoonosen, die durch Flaviviren wie das Virus der japanischen Enzephalitis und das Zika Virus verursacht werden.

Aktuell

infographie web

Neues In-vitro-Modell: eine Alternative zu Tierversuchen

Im Rahmen seiner Forschung über SARS-CoV-2 in der menschlichen Plazenta (Fahmi et al, 2021) hat das Forscherteam von PD Dr. Marco Alves (Institut für Virologie und Immunologie IVI und Universität Bern) ein In-vitro-Modell der menschlichen Plazenta entwickelt. Dieses physiologische Modell bietet die nötige Grundlage für eine signifikante Reduktion von In-vivo-Ansätzen bei der Bewertung pathophysiologischer Mechanismen von Viren, die Infektionen während der Schwangerschaft verursachen. Dieses neue Modell stärkt das 3R-Prinzip (replace, reduce, refine) – das Tierversuche ersetzen, reduzieren und verbessern möchte –, insbesondere das Prinzip des Ersetzens.

Dank der Veröffentlichung der exakten Methode im Wissenschaftsmagazin STAR Protocols (Fahmi et al., 2022) können andere Forscherteams diese Technik übernehmen, wodurch letztlich die Anzahl der verwendeten Tiere reduziert werden kann.

Tierversuche dürfen nur bewilligt werden, wenn keine alternativen Methoden vorhanden sind, mit denen eine Fragestellung beantwortet werden kann. Das Institut für Virologie und Immunologie (IVI) setzt sich für die Entwicklung alternativer Methoden ein.

Legende 

Methode des neuen In-vitro-Modells: Von der Plazentaentnahme bis zur Gewebekultur, was anschliessend die Untersuchung der menschlichen Plazenta, z. B. nach einer SARS-CoV-2-Infektion, ermöglicht.


corona et palcenta

SARS-CoV-2 in der Plazenta beim Menschen

Was passiert, wenn die menschliche Plazenta mit SARS-CoV-2 infiziert wird? Die Forschungsteams des IVI und des CHUV konnten nachweisen, dass sich die Zellen der menschlichen Plazenta mit SARS-CoV-2 infizieren können. Das Virus kann sich dort rasch vermehren und die angrenzenden Plazentazellen infizieren.

Letzte Änderung 14.04.2022

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Universität Bern
Institut für Virologie und Immunologie (IVI)
Länggassstrasse 122
3001 Bern

Leitung Immunologie
Prof. Dr. A. Summerfield
Telefon +41 (0)31 684 24 73 / (0)58 469 93 77

 

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.ivi.admin.ch/content/ivi/de/home/forschung/immunologie.html